Best Mushroom Ever! :) so far.

Chicken_Mushroom_of_the_woods

My life and my diet is changing. I’ve been thinking more about not completely relying on shops for food in the future. I’m also thinking more seasonally. Wondering “what is in season now?” when I select foods for the week.

At the fruitluck party I had last month, my good friend brought me a mushroom. When he opened the brown paper bag, I could not believe my eyes I WAS SO BEAUTIFUL! I couldn’t wait to try it. He told be it’s best to cook it, and that it tastes like chicken.

Laetiporus chicken mushroomThe next day I made it for lunch. And it did! It tastes like chicken! And I ate it alone, I made a whole meal out of it, and I felt so happy and satiated. I’m so excited to learn more about food foraging and wild foods. I feel like the possibilities are endless and it would be such an inspiring journey to venture out and see what is growing right beneath our noses. Most of us are totally clueless how to eat naturally (I mean really naturally, in nature). I know I am. I know so little. I look at flowers, or mushrooms, or leaves, or berries in the wild, and I think, “Is this edible?”

Luckily I have friends that know more than me, and there is a vast community of foragers, wild food leaders, and mycologists — all sorts of people & groups on the internet that are always able to help and are very generous with what they know.

Venture out there. See who there is to meet, what there is to try, and how you can learn. I will share with you what I learn as well. It’ll be fun.

red orange mushroom chicken of the woods

More about Chicken of the Woods:

Laetiporus is a genus of edible mushrooms found throughout much of the world. Some species, especially Laetiporus sulphureus, are commonly known as sulphur shelf, chicken of the woods, the chicken mushroom, or the chicken fungus because many think they taste like chicken. The name “chicken of the woods” is not to be confused with the edible polypore, Maitake (Grifola frondosa) known as “hen of the woods”, or with Lyophyllum decastes, known as the “fried chicken mushroom”.

And check out The Thing That Is Steve blog for more info on the Chicken of the Woods and other mushrooms.

2 thoughts on “Best Mushroom Ever! :) so far.

  1. This is great Aimee! This new blogs reminds me of a dream I had very, very long ago when I first e-met you. I was traveling through Florida and had a dream that you would be an artist working solely with a beautiful garden and the natural elements within it. I almost forgot that dream but I remember it fondly after reading your new blog! Thanks for sharing so much!

    1. Oh, that is so beautiful. I want that dream to come true! :) Little by little, I think it’s happening.
      And thank you so much! Your encouragement always keeps me going in the right direction, focusing on what is important: sharing, loving & being true to oneself.

Leave a Reply

