Charcoal Mud Mask Recipe

charcoal mud mask

I usually don’t do these types of things, but yesterday I decided that I needed some skin repair and maintenance. My facial skin looked dull and very unhappy. So, I decided to make a mask. No, first I thought to buy one. Then I thought, “No, I will make one instead!”

I used a little Aztec Indian Clay. I already had it here at home, from a seed ball project I did in the summer. (I needed clay for the balls and I needed it fast. Aztec Indian Clay was easy to get.) Then, I used come Activated Charcoal, which I also had at home. I had it from traveling overseas. It’s great for snake & spider bits, bee stings, and more common for travelers: food poisoning or gastrointestinal trouble, like gas and bacterias. Anyway! :) I combined the two together, because I thought they would be a fabulous combination and make a great mask. And I was right! They are great. And my skin feels and looks better this morning. I also put a little raw coconut oil on my face immediately after. Because it’s winter, and I didn’t want my skin to dry out from such a cleansing mask.

Check out the photo. That’s me! The mask was fun to wear. It has a great color; very slate blue-black. Below is all the information you’ll need if you are interested in doing something similar for your skin. Keep in mind, you don’t need to do this often, only if you feel you need a deep cleaning or healing for your skin.

Healing properties of Aztec Indian Clay:

It is a facial mask made from 100% all natural calcium bentonite clay. The clay is from Death Valley, California, where it is sun- dried for up to six months in temperatures that sometimes reach 134 degrees. When the clay is applied to the skin it forms a negative charge. Poisons and toxins stored in the epidermis have a positive charge. This process allows impurities (like pimples and blackheads) into the clay for their removal, it also nourishes the skin with over 50 minerals found in the clay.

Healing properties of Activated Charcoal:

I listed quite a few health benefits above in my blog post, but this is how it works…
Activated charcoal works because it chemically binds other substances to its surface and can absorb thousands of times its own weight. It also has an incredibly large surface area due to all of its pores – one cubic inch of charcoal has the surface area equivalent to a 150,000 square-foot field. This is why just a bit of charcoal can absorb so many toxins, atoms, and ions. It’s great on top of your body (topically on a semi regular basis) and inside of your body (taken internally, if needed). There are lots of natural handmade soaps on the market that have charcoal. People with skin problems use them daily. Etsy has tons of them! Click here to see what they have.

Charcoal Mud Mask Recipe

Very simple, just take a capsule of Activated Charcoal and pour it into a small bowl. Then add a table spoon of Aztec Indian Clay. You can add some filtered water to it until its consistency is milk-like. Then, use your hands to apply it to your face. You can always use more/less charcoal & clay to get it to a consistency and amount that you prefer.

Here is another mask recipe for you that I haven’t tried, but would like to…

Charcoal Mud Mask Recipe 2

To use activated charcoal on your skin, mix one (or one-half) capsule of the powder into a teaspoon of aloe vera gel, one teaspoon of water or rosewater, five drops of tea tree oil, and a pinch of sea salt.

Leave a Reply

