Recipe for Raw Vegan Pizza

laura-miller_raw-vegan-not-gross

Was I right? Or was I right? I thought Laura Miller and her Raw. Vegan. Not Gross. show was hot. I wrote about it on Sunday Is For Lovers on July 20th 2013. It looks like thousands of other people feel the same way, because her viewers grow by leaps and bounds every week. I’m so happy for her! She’s such a refreshing face & personality. And you can tell she is sincere in her love for food.

This week’s episode is of a raw vegan pizza. Mmmmmm, looks good. But to be honest, I watch this show strictly for entertainment (even though I eat mostly raw vegan). When I make food for myself, I like to be in & out of the kitchen quickly. I bet when Laura cooks (preps raw food) for herself, it’s a fairly fast process for her too. But for a cooking show, you have to impress people. They want to be wowed, or they want to know that the rich decadent food they love is still possible on a raw vegan diet. So don’t feel intimidated by any of the ingredients (cups of nuts) or prepping times (hours in the dehydrator), because most long term raw vegans have a pretty simple diet. And if it’s not simple, I bet they have it down to a speedy science.

If you have any questions at all about a raw vegan or cooked vegan diet, feel free to comment below.

Here is Laura’s raw vegan cauliflower pizza recipe & video…

INGREDIENTS
crust:
2 cups cauliflower
1/4 t smoked paprika
2 T nutritional yeast
1 garlic clove
2 T olive oil
1 T fresh oregano
pinch of salt
tomato sauce:
1 cup sun-dried tomatoes (soaked overnight)
1 med-large tomato
1 t red pepper flakes
1 T lemon juice
3 scallions
toppings:
shitakes and arugula, marinated for a few mins in balsamic vinegar

PROCESS
1. Chop cauliflower into small pieces and add to food processor, blending until it’s pretty smooth.
2. Add cauliflower and all of your remaining crust ingredients to the food processor and pulse until well-combined.
4. Spread the dough into 1 large circle on a tefex sheet (making sure to not spread it too thin – about ½ inch is good)
5. Place in your dehydrator overnight, or place in your oven at 200 degrees for 1 hour.
6. Cut shiitake mushrooms into strips and toss with arugula and balsamic vinegar and set aside.
7. Combine ingredients for your tomato sauce in a blender or food processor.
8. Remove crust from oven or dehydrator, spread tomato sauce on top, and add toppings.

2 thoughts on “Recipe for Raw Vegan Pizza

    1. Hi! If you ever decide to make it, let me know how it turned out! :)
      It seems like the cauliflower crust would create a really interesting texture. I have a feeling I would like it. I really like cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

