Words Revisited – Day 75 of 92

rainbow

I want to share a blog post I wrote for Sunday Is For Lovers in February 2010.

Everyday is Amazing

The last couple of days have been quite interesting. I noticed that my life in general has shifted greatly. In an email I sent this morning, I addressed this very subject. Here is part of what I wrote, “I remember about 12-14 years ago, I wouldn’t want to go to sleep at night because I couldn’t bear to think of waking up to another day. But now I don’t want to go to sleep because I don’t want the day to end. I love it too much! Life has changed — or have I? Everything comes from within. Everything. Nothing exists outside of us. I am beginning to see this more and more.”

How does life do this? How does it suddenly change? It doesn’t! We do. We stop resisting. We stop fighting. We stop trying to know it all or force it all. We begin to allow. We begin to respond. We begin to trust. We begin to love what is happening right now. Right now. We develop a sense of gratitude and wonder for the possibilities that exist everyday. We create and allow creation to happen. We get out of the way and we begin to participate. It’s really beautiful, like a dance.

Have you ever seen the movie Groundhog Day? The main character in the movie has to live the same boring day over & over again. Until he gets to the point where he can take a heartfelt interest in the here & now, he is stuck resisting and hating everything that is his life.

There is no separation. Bliss and suffering are two sides of the same coin. That is why I was able to live them in the same person, in the same life. They were from me. It was only what I chose to see or chose to be. Nothing more. I have all of the same opportunities and most of the same people in my life. It’s pretty much the same. But for some reason (and I can guess why), it feels totally different now. The exact opposite of what it used to be. And this is only because I am choosing to see it differently. Because of this choice I’ve made, because of this love for what is, I am seeing and experiencing so much grace. It feels enormous! Quite overwhelming actually. The more I embrace life in all of its forms (and formlessness), the more amazing it gets. I’m in awe.

Leave a Reply

